Poem#15 Fairytale Ending

That wonderful, unbreakable, glass slipper

which fell from her foot unscathed

Why did it stay under the spell whilst the

dress, the carriage and even her hair

returned to their normal state?

Why was there a decree that every woman

in the land should try on the unsmashed shoe?

Who would expect maids or cleaners to attend

a ball, unless they were in on the plot?

Author: chrissiemorrisbrady

I've read poetry since I was nine and have written creatively since I was fourteen (probably long before that). After writing book reviews and social comment, I decided I wanted to write poetry. I have no formal training, but I surround myself with poets and their writing. I am honing my craft. I have two published collections which I don't feel good about, but have been published by madswirl.com and other publications. I live on the south coast of England with my daughter. I am seriously ill.

2 thoughts on “Poem#15 Fairytale Ending”

  1. There always has to be a way back to magic
    for the fairy tale ending. What better means
    than a glass slipper, easily overlooked, left
    behind, but found by the prince whose “decree,”
    well, in love we all sometimes think we
    would do anything for it, when life is a ball.
    Though the shoe may not fit this time, even
    the possibility of a dance with a prince makes
    a maid a princess, but when she finds the shoe
    that fits, she makes her prince the one she
    steps with out onto the floor, her magic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

