Poem#17 Also…Poet

He comes from a broken home –

the child to fix a marriage of huge egos.

He was two and his sister a

decade older, so he was like an only child, and

became the family mascot –

the clown, craving love, validation.

Attention seeker, he could draw,

he could act, he was gifted and

precocious. He tried art as a

career, photography too, but

no… Then he realised he was

writing poetry as well as acting.

Mostly the fool. He mastered

depreciation, the joke at his expense

so that he would be liked and loved.

(There are holes in his soul.)

He also mastered poetry, and how!

My favourite living poet…

Because he acts, he can be caught

off guard, and can be ferocious.

Few people know him, they are lost

in his charm which he has by the

spade and his poetry – so clever

in every possible way.

He is still unhealed. Still the two

year old craving attention.

Author: chrissiemorrisbrady

I've read poetry since I was nine and have written creatively since I was fourteen (probably long before that). After writing book reviews and social comment, I decided I wanted to write poetry. I have no formal training, but I surround myself with poets and their writing. I am honing my craft. I have two published collections which I don't feel good about, but have been published by madswirl.com and other publications. I live on the south coast of England with my daughter. I am seriously ill.

Leave a Reply

